Silver Bell Award

The recipient of the Lee Bell Award, also known affectionately as the Silver Bell Award, is selected by secret ballot of ACLC’s Board of Directors following a round of open nominations by members.  The Award is made during each year’s Mr. & Ms. Alameda County Leather Contest.

Not even our Board of Directors knows the winner’s name until the award is unwrapped.

The award was created in memory of Lee Bell, a much-loved local man who worked tirelessly in all aspects of the community. Lee supported every club, organization, and even lending a hand, shoulder, or ear as needed.

Lee and his partner, Shilo Herrling, seemed to be everywhere at once.

Who could ever have believed that this magnificent man would leave us due to heart failure? He seemed to have so much heart to share with anyone who needed it.

At each year’s Contest, we honor someone who has chosen to live his or her life in the spirit of generosity and service.

1997Shilo Herrling
1998Den Calkins
1999David Facio (“Tootsie”)
2000Tiffany Woods
2001Elena Hall
2002David Barker
2003Karl Schuck
2004Andrew Johnson (“Bootdog”)
2005Joan Norry
2006Dan Herrera
2007Don Woods
2008Larry Gray
2009Nyna Kaiser
2010Sandy Reinhardt (“Mama”)
2011DJ Mora
2012Mama Portugal
2013Billy Aviles
2014Fawn Luck
2015Dan Lloyd
2016Mel Yeager
2017Randy Wright
2018Robert Kleypas
2019Lena Mae Leroy
Comments are closed.